NAEYC Accreditation

Ladybug Child Care Center is accredited by the NAEYC

Ladybug Child Care Center of Waconia has been accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children. The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) has identified 10 standards for early childhood programs that accreditation is based upon. These standards can help families make the right choice when they look for child care.

To earn accreditation from NAEYC, programs must meet the following 10 standards:

  1. Relationships
  2. Curriculum
  3. Teaching
  4. Assessment of Child Progress
  5. Health
  6. Teachers
  7. Families
  8. Community Relationships
  9. Physical Environment
  10. Leadership and Management

These standards were created based on the research on the development and education of young children. Experts and educators from around the country weighed in on these standards to create the program accreditation process. The standards define what NAEYC—the world’s largest organization of early childhood professionals—believes all early childhood programs should provide.

Is there a difference between licensing and accreditation?

A license is required to legally operate a child care center in Minnesota. Ladybug Child Care Centers hold a license to operate from the Minnesota Department of Human Services. NAEYC accreditation is a voluntary system in which programs measure themselves against rigorous standards. Ladybug has been evaluated by an assessor assigned by the NAEYC, and accreditation was determined by a national commission appointed for this purpose. Ladybug is licensed by the state of Minnesota and accredited by the NAEYC.

Tour Ladybug Child Care Center


For additional information on NAEYC accreditation, please visit